join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

sometimes the most unlikely people become heroes

2003-12-06 - 4:54 p.m.

Last night we went to a birthday party for I guy I don't know. He looked like he did this every night, so the birthday thing was a bonus maybe. We were standing next to the foosball table and an older Indian couple walked up and the wife asked me if I wanted to play. I said yes, my guy said no. We played anyway. They were pretty good and very competitive, so they beat us twice. I was pretty upset about it because I used to win a lot and now I was washed up, and these two bastards were loving it. He kept congratulating his wife on her shots and she was smiling. She went and had a cigarette and said let's play again when we come back.

Since my guy backed out of the next game, I found someone else who was stoned enough to say yes. Really nice guy, looked kind of like an egg. A good egg. Well she was waiting at the foosball table, grinning and looking at me so I made a vow right then to kick both their asses and send them home. I think they were feeling pretty good, what with their winning streak, and she had just had a relaxing cigarette. My goalie was tough, even though he didn't look it. And I blocked all her shots, so she hup-twoed immediately. I even prayed to just beat them twice or three times, because I felt it was personal.

As we beat them in the first game, her husband was clearly irritated and began to break a sweat. As she continually failed to block my shots, he started speaking in a language only they could understand, and she said nothing, and I noticed she had stopped smiling. But I was.

So now neither of them would even look at my goalie and I, but it was ok because we had beatedn them twice already, and I think they had had enough. I made sure to shake their hands and thank them for a very satisfying evening, and they rushed out. I felt like saying, "now don't you come back here again, you two, until you're ready to win." But that's cocky. I slept better than I have in a long time last night.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze