join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

Come on ring those bells

2003-12-02 - 9:47 p.m.

Nothing against Christmas at all, but I have no holiday spirit. The girls at my job like to torture me with Christmas music all the livelong day. One of them I can understand because she really wants to be festive and gay, and she is quite entertaining. The other one is always miserable, I don't see how the spirit finds its way into her heart, as it is full of scowling and hatred, and her family members keep dying. Three in the last few months, one on the way.

The girls want to know why I don't like the music. I told them because I think it has to do with my Mom in the 70's 80's and 90's. One tape. Evie: "Come On , Ring Those Bells." She had blonde winged back hair and I'm sure she had a comb in her back pocket. She would've been in the Glee club in school, and probably the Pep club as well. Here is a sampling of her music, played roughly from late October until way after Christmas: COME ON, RING THOSE BELLS by Evie

Come on Ring Those Bells,

LIGHT - the Christams tree

Jesus is the key

Born for you and me

Come on Ring those beeeeelllls,

Ev-rybuddy say,

Jesus we remEMber it's your

Birrrrthdaaaay! AWAY IN A MANGER by Evie

Away in a manger

The fields as he lay

A perfect poor stranger

How dark is thi-his day

Bla bla bla Lord Jesus

the sheep he did help

bla blabla birthday.

And many many more. For this reason and many others, I prefer anything else.

Tomorrow I'm going to unplug the radio.

Some other ideas I have are:

migraine

diversionary tricks (cookies, candy, stories)

important phone calls - "Could you lower that? I'm on an important phone call."

Acting as if I'm engaged in what the girls are saying, so I'll lower the radio again.

All that aside, I appreciate the effort that our workmates bring to the Christmas party, many wear sequin tops and reds and green medleys. Some rehearse for months and then sing at the party. Some get mad because the food is always vegetarian. The owner is one. He'd like to save the animals, but he doesn't mind killing lungs of second handers with his smoking.

I guess I should say I'm happy to be a part of any company, even though I'm not. There is something to be said for working at a company where there's spirit. If I ever lean in the direction of needless overenthusiastic holiday messmaking though, I'd like it if someone would tap me and remind me that I'm acting out of character, and could I please come back to the earth that I once knew, with a loving but cynical view of our culture, its customs and practices.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze