join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

doesn't have to be a bird

2011-06-29 -

Look. I just want to go where there's birds and nature, and nobody's doing their hair",
I said to my husband the other morning. I think he gets it. Although I think his version of that would be

"Look. I just want to go where you need a car with chains on the tires, can drive deep through the snow and live in a cabin (that you built by hand) in the forest for a while."

I notice that the girls in Appalachia don't do their makeup. And it's nice too see. I don't wear that much makeup, and sometimes I don't wear any at all. But Los Angeles is a kind of funny place, and everyone's very health conscious. So am I, but in more within the sinner/saint realm. I'll stop eating sugar and then deduce that the whole world is wrong for eating a cookie. Until I eat a cookie. Then I wonder why we're all so uptight. LA sometimes resembles a blonde girl with a way too tight sweater, which, upon closer inspection doesn't hold up very well, because much of it was made of cheap polyester to begin with.

I love so many things, am happy, etc. But I realize on a pretty regular basis that I have a sensitive constitution. Even eating too much yogurt can make me feel slightly unbalanced. And slightly unbalanced people can make me feel better.

I don't think it's too much to ask to live in a city where no one cares if you make your own shampoo, and everyone's clothes are mismatched. I was watching Tammy Faye Baker on the religion channel the other day, and she had on a pink outfit that matched her pink hair, which matched the sunset. It was unreal, although I don't get the sense her ego was involved. Ultimately, who cares if your clothes match? Who cares about brown and black together? Who also cares about:

matching linens
bed skirts
dusting picture frames every single day
vegetable wash
music videos where a man chases a woman he likes through a park or a club
clubbing (not animals)
if you never ate ham again
pasteurized dairy
tribal tattoos if you're not in a ceremony
baby formula
Monsanto's exact accumulation of wealth
anyone's exact accumulation of wealth

What I would suggest is an un-branding overhaul. Of our clothing, of our products, our shows, our kids, our linens, our companies, our plates, our ideas about how something should look - and anything else you might want to add. Go and save a bird.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze