join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

Their ilk, they're ilk

2009-10-24 - rx, prn

Supposedly, clinically diagnosed "crazy" people in some countries outside of the US are seen as integral components of their homes and in society, and their families' don't abandon them on the street because they're mentally ill. They care for them and love them like anyone else in the family, and their disease isn't hidden or washed over, but embraced. I have an undeniable soft spot for the mentally ill. Not the psycho ones who would switch up their pitch and lose it in an instant, like the man who feeds the ducks down the street but hates every other living thing. He likes to scream at people, because he's a hot pepper head, and who knows what else. But every day he brings a 2 gallon bucket of feed and sprinkles it near the ducks and geese while he talks to them. I've noticed he also does like a leader of the marching band thing where he tries to get them to follow him, seeing how they love to walk together in a line like that. I think he thinks he's their father. The last time we saw him we had our dogs with us, and one of them walked up to him like a curious innocent child. They don't love everyone but they did give him a chance. He blew it, shaking his head at my little baby. Since he's a yeller, I said it loud enough for him to appreciate:

"He loves ducks but he hates &%$# dogs."

Not that he's going to go home and think about it. But the fluid and consistently disturbed ones - I find them refreshing in small doses, like exotic fruit that's suddenly in season for a short time. It's funny because a few weeks ago my husband and I were sitting outside and a fairly well spoken guy walked up to us, and he was positively chatty, and possibly homeless man in his 50's, who didn't give me any especially weird vibes so I spoke to him a little. Just enough to see if he had anything interesting to report. He didn't, but I think he needed to have someone listen to him rant. What's funny is that his brand of ill is a churned out watered down version of so many other people with mixed up minds - not the wrong kind, just in ways like he's wary of the government in the exact same way that other schizophrenics I've met have been. Maybe he'd like to move to a country where there's a dictatorship? He knows the gov't has been following him, and it seems like they're always just down the street waiting for him to make the wrong move. He thinks we may be one of them, but he doubts we could be, looking like we do, so he'll talk to us. He has his theories about why they do it. He is pretty lighthearted about it, bordering on slight antagonism that they could inconvenience his life this way for so long. And so on. I was going to ask him when they implanted the microchip and where they put it, but thought better of it, looking over at my silent husband. It gave me a really good feeling to listen to him - probably because in a way, he was nicely unfiltered without being deeply disturbing.

My husband chose not to speak to him, which is fine, because some of my friends would have also said nothing the entire time. That is, until the guy left. But sometimes you have to run the risk that people will think you're weak for it. Don't care, will do it anyway!

"Ohell... why do you always speak to crazy people?"

"Why do you....never speak to them?"

I was watching a video from a business expert the other day who does short segments about people's lines of work and personal lives, and he questions people regarding what charges them up. Like in one career, what would fire someone's engine is vastly different than another guy in the same field, sitting next to him. More people, and you have even more subdivisions of things to be jazzed about. You're a surgeon, but mainly like to operate on people's hands. Your associate doctor is also a surgeon, but he feels better when he's correcting nerve damage in male babies. So... I've always been excited about people with a unique position, oftentimes positions that are contrary to popular opinion, and sometimes vehemently so.

Anyone could turn out mental, including me, and then who am I going to talk to? Probably not everyone. It seemed like the man we met was discerning enough in his choice of contact, but I wouldn't know what kind of person he won't speak to. I'm sure I'm not allowed to invite him home for dinner, although you can bet I would invite many people home for dinner that I'm not supposed to.

It could be a promising idea to put a group of schizophrenics in a test run think tank and give them the day to decide who really assassinated JFK and, precisely how.

"When three or more schizophrenics are gathered in my name....anything can happen." - Myself, on behalf of JFK

One of my friends thinks he's a schizophrenic, and I'm not a doctor, but I told him I think he just has multiple personality disorder, and should get a second opinion. He'll suddenly find himself in conversation with someone while out walking, and when he comes to, he realizes that no one's there. Except the people staring at him. I've never seen him have an episode, but I'd like to. He has a good sense of humor about it.

Lisa Marie Presley thought she was going crazy until she had the mercury removed from her teeth. And if everyone got rid of their mercury,(careful, it's a tricky process) it might cut down on mountains of additional mental illness. Not looking to change anyone's mind.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze