join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

Mom always said there'd be thoughts like this

2005-10-29 - 6:12 p.m.

I don't know why I had to write now but when a baby's due there's nothing you can do. The theme here is writers should get credit for writing things they wrote. I don't want to cry but I think I emphasize with Jiminy's friend/rewriter on his film who has literally taken the entire script and rehashed it to make it so that actors would want to act in it. Their parents would be proud, of course, but now they'd have a reason aside from that's my daughter. You can feel the difference. I love dialogue, and this is very good dialogue.

It wasn't that the script had no merit before, it did. But the writing is now so much more smart and it fits. It upgraded a lot. He hasn't gotten any credit for rewriting it, and I think it must kill him. It kills Jiminy. I realized tonight it bothers me too.

Jiminy's trying to sleep, he's been getting little to not much since shooting and got in last night at four a.m. We were back asleep by five but this morning was the lead actresses' wedding. She is a
team player, her manager said right before he hit the dance floor. He also said he thinks he's too stiff. I think it bothered him. Maybe his actors bring out the part in him that he can't.

Having nothing to do with anything - the rapper at my job was supposed to have a rap battle with some other rap guy downtown Friday, but the other rapper cancelled. Just to keep you abreast of things that don't happen. Also, my friend who worked with me for a month or two, just long enough to bond with, left. Walked off the job.

What do we do? We find people jobs. We're a boutique staffing agency. And she walked off right in the middle of careerbuilder.com phone training. I tried to listen to those guys in Arkansas teaching their ad building tutorial but I saw her packing up, so I figured, even Jesus wouldn't finish the phone training. Sometimes you have to make executive decisions. Although my branch manager would disagree.

"Hey hey Ohell, don't you care about training?"

"She's ****ing leaving!"

I rarely curse like that on the job. But 11 people have left in the past year.

"Irene, 11 people have left in the past year!"

"No they haven't, three of them I fired."

And so we watched my friend walk out with dignity still intact. I looked around. Technically, I have morals too. We work long hours. Irene, though cool socially, is a bit of a salesperson, not to be confused with a manager, and was sort of thrown into managerial status. (from advertising) The boys there are fun, yet not old enough to know how to respect women fully. It's demanding, tiring, and turns you into the kind of person who, after coming down from what was a very great very good cocaine high, makes you crash so hard your helmit breaks. The interviewees are relentless, call you five times a day.

Have a job for me? Have a job for me? Have a job for me? Get my message? Get my message?

But I won't deny it, they present a girl with priceless fucking writing material. I sat back down and called Jose and told him yeah, the Archdiocese of Los Angeles is still hiring, come on in.

I don't want to die. Or get old. I have visions of waking up, realizing I am now 76 and my faculties are compromised, and just throwing a firecracking fit. All hell breaks loose. I kill people, while screaming "no".

They gave me a personality test at work two days ago. I get the results Monday. I feel like my mother is alive again, summing up the whole of my parts, doing a Freud on me once more for old time's sake.

""Who are you going out with?"

"John, Bill, and Asia."

"John Bill and Asia who?"

"They're no one you know."

"You know, Ohell, every time you say 'no one you know', I know you're up to no good."

"Don't analyze me please. "

"I never analyze my kids."

"Yep you do."

"You have a lot of anger at me, stemming from years ago. You know plenty of people never got what they needed from their parents Ohell."

"That's a fact."


So the rewriter, the force behind the dialogue, the guy who made a good script great, is still unknown to everyone but Jiminy and me. He'll be on the set next week, burning I'm sure.


previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze