join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

The reading was fine. Next topic.

2005-10-19 - 9:08 p.m.

Ok so the reading went well. According to everyone but me. The readers were great, and funny, and I have it on DVD - but I won't watch it. I'd say most of the audience had never seen "Arrested Development", and maybe a few of the readers as well. Regardless, I was horrified that I had let myself ever sign up for that class and have to hear the whole thing out loud in front of an audience who were alive and breathing pretty regularly, not at all like my wall and desk at work.

The rapper at my job did a great character in the reading, and so did my branch manager, who actually used to act a lot. She thought she was a little stiff, but her fiance' didn't seem to think so from the sidelines. The other eight readers were friends, friends of friends, and friends of friends of friends. And Matt, who Jiminy and me saw on stage a few weeks ago and I whispered to him, "Wouldn't he be the best Tobias character?" Then I tracked him down and called him the next day and he said yes, even though he had no idea who in the fuck I was. Hip hip hooray ! Back to agonizing, you just don't realize how much you want to crawl into a hole hearing the whole thing, anything, being read aloud in front of people. People that you know, and that you don't. Jiminy was more nervous than me, and dropped a bottle of red wine in the street.

"I hope the winos can lick the street."

Then he dropped another one and it broke in a similar fashion, inside the black box theater. While he was telling me I should go stand somewhere else so he could set up properly. (like he was obviously doing) He was the only one who made me feel better, as I equated the audience's laughter/clapping with mockery and judgement.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze