join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

next stop whatsville

2004-06-30 - time: to step up

It may not be a full moon tonight but it feels like it.

The owner of my company asked to see me today so I said will do. I sat down and found myself tapping on his wooden desk with my nails, made a nice song. Never noticed he had an antique looking devil sticking out of a cup until now, with horns. I found myself poking at one of those horns because he seemed to be collecting himself/his thoughts still. We have a nice repoire but I had no idea what he wanted.

"How would you say you are on the computer?"

What?

"How are you on the computer?"

"Do you mean like research?"

"Like if Pam (the company computer genius) is a 10 computer wise, on a scale of 1-10, what would you say you are?"

"Oh! Technical. Not so great. Unless you're talking words, syntax, research, sure, excellent. Not so great on the technical. Why?"

"Well - I want to increase your value here, that's all."

"Oh, what?"

(I thought I was pretty valuable, up until now. So what the hell. )

"Increase your value. I'm trying to do that."

"Ok, sounds good."

(Do what?)

"Pam's out sick, so when she comes back we'll go over all of it."

"Ok, let's go over it then when Pam comes back."

"Sound good?"

"Of course. We'll speak to Pam."

"She should be back tomorrow."

"Pam."

"Yep."

"Ok, see you then."

Naturally I sprinted straight to Dina to ask her if she was aware I was getting fired. She wasn't. She thought he was trying to replace his assistant/friend of 25 years was all. I don't think that will ever happen. Just because she takes in (to her body) more than she can handle and it makes her sleepy, late or just plain home in bed for a few weeks. Lately she was doing better, after he threatened drug testing. I'm not sure how she is currently, because she's in Hawaii. But she's also a friend of mine so I'd rather not share any part of her job, whether she stays or goes on 5 more consecutive "trips" out of town/her mind. Of course I'm not worried, it's just that anyone who knows me is aware that even the copy machine perplexes me. I'm just not built that way, it looks like. I mean I can copy. It's just the fancy tricks on it that get me down. So - when Pam gets back, if Pam ever goddamn comes back.

I spoke to my Father for a little.

"I got a collect call from Ca. which I knew could only be my son Rob."

"Oh, how is he?"

"He's out of jail."

"What jail?"

"11 days later, I guess he had some outstanding car issues he was supposed to take care of."

"Guess he never got around to it."

"Yeah he wanted to call and apologize for not calling Father's Day."

"Well that was thoughtful."

"Yeah, I told him don't worry about it, they probably don't celebrate Father's day in California."

"Good point. He sober?"

"As he can be."

"Good enough."

I met with Lon tonight, this guy I'm doing a startup business with. Thankfully he doesn't require me to do steam powered stuff, I'm more the no-muzzle idea horse and he's able to rope it all into the stable. I really appreciate that, kind of like when people stack things neat and just make it seem like breathing. We figured it would be a good idea to check out some other people's work as well in the coming months, so we're meeting at this bakery tomorrow night over in my area where there's a girl having a show of her apparel and print stuff, which is similar to ours, in spirit. We're not stealing her ideas at all. One of my friends is playing music there with God knows who, and they're not sure what they'll play, or which of them will be showing up to play. That's nice, she's out there hustling her threads with no solid backup musician. I'm not even sure what I'm trying to say, actually. It's as if you're half asleep and a friend asks you a simple question like "So did you like the movie?" And you answer " oh yes, the train is eating gravel."

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze