join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

most people don't.

2004-06-22 - closing time

Today I called the recycling center of Los Angeles to see what items people could recycle that maybe they weren't thinking of.

ME- Can you tell me some items that I could recycle that maybe I'm not thinking of?

HER - That's really why you called?

ME- Well it's not just for my benefit, haven't you heard of the ripple effect yet?

HER- I can tell you what is a no no around here.

ME - A no no?

HER - No noos.

NO NO'S

� laser printer & copier paper

� notebook paper (staples OK)

� envelopes (plastic and hazy windows from envelopes are OK)

� paper board (food-type boxes)

� magazines & newspaper

� glossy & colored paper

� carbonless NCR paper

� directories & catalogs

� paperclips (please reuse them)

� wax paper

� milk cartons

� paper cups & plates

� napkins & Kleenex

� hard-cover books (call for special pickup)

� post-it notes

ME - Well, your list is impressive, but I am surprised. I didn't know about the newspaper.

SHE - Most people don't.

ME - What do you guys do if we don't clean the container well?

HER - There - is - a seven step process that we follow. We -

ME - I don't - have too much time? Can you tip me off to the important things?

HER - People should follow the wash and squash rule, where you rinse the container and then SQUASH it.

ME - Okay, squash it!

HER - Yeah squash it.

ME - I like the sound of that.

HER - Neat, huh?

ME - I'm gonna really try and clean my containers better for you guys.

HER - I appreciate that. This city could use a few conscientious people.

ME - Which I clearly am.

HER - Well I hope I helped.

ME - Oh, God yes. Thank you for your time, you have helped.

HER - If I can help one person.

ME - Superhero mentality, you have.

HER - Okay.

ME - Alright. Bye.

********************************

That recyclette was most definately an open channel of information. My mother always told Rory and me years ago when someone tells you something, or you hear or read something that you aren't sure of, you have to ask yourself one question. How reliable is your scource? Rory was challenging it with her, like

"Hmm. How reliable is my scource? Hmm. Not very."

He was seven and I was five, and I was still trying to figure out what the word scource meant. I thought scource meant sun, so I translated the question as, How strong is your sun? Sometimes I still have a time grasping conveyed meaning. It seems like most people don't. Still I feel it may have been premature for her to pose those questions so early.

Fahrehheit 911 opens Fri and almost all the seats were sold out in advance, like it's a concert. I think that's a very good sign, I'm very excited to see it and I hope all the theatres get sold out too. I also just finalized my NY trip so I will be seeing everyone sooner, and I'm staying a lot longer this time instead of always coming back 2 days later, like some plane sick travel junkie.

There'll be a body viewing of the husband of the woman I work with tomorrow. She knows despair like few do. Most people don't. Fortunately her family is huge and very involved in her life. I'll be there with Georgie and Noel, even though Georgie keeps saying it will traumatize her. And after we

view and console

which sounds so cold

I'm taking these two

off to view

another place

where people

are known to

console you

most people don't.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze