join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

the manor

2004-05-31 - 6:15 p.m.

I met these two women that I instantly love. I met them through a friend, and she always tried to get me to hang out with them, but I never would because I thought they might be too girly. People might say the same thing about me for fuck's sake! I sure don't look as though I have gutter mouth or would fight a man. I wouldn't. The two of these girls are so cool and I truly forgot that I don't have to rely on myself most of the time, I can speak to other women when things are a little off center with me. Sometimes I forget that people don't live in vacuums, that you're supposed to have female friends that you actually talk to, and that not all women will stab you backward just because they can. I think I grew up 6 months today with all the clarity I've been afforded, and I can tell I like these girls because I'm going away with them and I'm picky about that.

Yesterday I was at a house that is joined by a bridge, which actually made it into two houses. There are all these crazy rooms that you can literally disappear into. When we got there, this couple was outside sitting on a tree shaped like a V. They just had a baby 6 months ago, and looked about 28. She was really pretty and had a really big chest, but I wasn't so talkative yet and all I could think to say was that

"your baby will never be hungry"

"your baby will never be hungry"

Sometimes I feel as though people don't want to hear the first thing that pops into other people's heads, even though she was wearing a black neglige' under her jacket that prompted my thoughts.

Inside, I looked up - there was a skylight with bottle cap windows and dolls hanging from it. Left of me, a guy was singing only Beatles songs with two other guys and a woman who was clearly not in the band. According to everyone but her. After every break in the song, the singer would yell into the kitchen for someone to stir the rice. It didn't look like anyone was stirring, but he kept asking. The kitchen was housed by an older hippie woman who kept poking her head into the room and smiling, but was definately not stirring the rice. This was driving me mad and not wanting to get caught in the trap, I asked the singer (at a break in the song) if "stir the rice" was code for something else. Because I'll stir the fucking rice. I will. He sang Something in the Way She Moves, as if it was an answer to my question. I looked into the kitchen and from what I could see from my vantage point on the "couch" (otherwise known as tamborines covered in pillows) the kitchen was covered in stuffed animals or maybe they were real, or maybe it was just a slew of tchsochkies, if I could spell it.

No one wanted to look into the other rooms with me so I looked by myself into two more rooms and by far my favorite area in the entire house(s) was the room with the bed with eleven mattresses on top of each other. Right as I was landing on it, this old guy told me he's slept on that bed so many times over the years, just because, and he seemed to love it like I loved it, like no bed I had ever met. Serta. Sealy. Springair. Posturepedic. No contest, ok? This bed beat them all like a dignified aging queen. I didn't want to leave but my crew said, "party's over, princess and the pea." The house even had an indoor hot tub. From the seventies, which I'd never go in unless I was drunk or had filled it myself. You don't ever know. I missed a few rooms this time, but the general idea was that in every spot of the house, there was something or someone occupying it. If someone would bring the Pippi Longstocking movie back, it would be a great place for her cast and crew to shoot.

We said goodbye to the baby couple who said to come back next time because his band would be there, not playing Beatles music. Walking, we didn't know which path to take to get to the cars, and when we got to the cars, we didn't know which was the shortest easiest path home, so we just followed our intuition, which turned out to be the best route overall.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze