join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

that notary

2004-04-19 - 6:34 a.m.

For three days I've been feeling horrible. I think it's detox, but why is it happening now? It's been almost two months for me. Not that I should get an award. My friend Rochelle called me yesterday to come to one of her appointments, and I said nope. I don't feel good. So who shows up at my house and picks me up anyway? So I get in the car, and I tell her, I'm warning you, miss. Don't screw with me. She did, all the way to the valley. She's not the kind of friend that wrestles you, like my friend Ann Bianca in NY, who would wrestle you even when she was pregnant. When she was younger, she'd go to bars and start fights with guys, and she wasn't even that big. Just her mouth is. Once a guy mouthed off to her and called her one of those names that you shouldn't, and she cracked a beer mug over his head. Anyway, Rochelle is more of the mental wrestler. She asked me random questions all the way into the valley. Who cares questions. Do you like that house? Would you ever live on this street? Isn't this an ugly house? What if you had no choice, what would you do if you had to live here, for 10 years?

"I wouldn't live here, I hate the valley."

"But what if you had to?"

"Why would I have to? Aren't we free here?"

"OK, either you had to live here or in Compton. Where there were roaches in the house."

"How long in Compton Rochelle."

"10 years."

"That's silly. What are the circumstances, why do I have to live in either?"

"I don't know yet, you just do. Well? Well?"

"There's always suicide. Can you please stop talking?"

So before we even go into the house for the appointment, the guy has to get dressed, his assistant tells us we have to wait 15 more minutes. Everyone in LA has an assistant. We finally go in, and the guy comes down the stairs in sweats. I almost fell asleep on his dining room table, and Rochelle and him went over a bunch of b.s. for what seemed like ever. His name was Wilmer, but I kept calling him Edgar, which is my ex's cat's name. It turns out he used to be on that 70's show back when it was on. Who knew, that was one of the shows I was supposed to "study" from a few days ago when I had that focus group I posted about here. I never did study it, I figured I could wing that one, I'd seen clips over the years. I didn't even recognize one of the main people when he was talking to me.

"So what do you do."

"I sleep today."

"No really."

"I'm an assignable accounts auditor."

"Really!"

"Don't pretend like it's exciting. It's not. "

"No, my last accountant was..."

"...I know nothing about numbers."

"Oh. I do some acting. Too much, meetings all the time, you know."

"That's good. I don't feel good."

When we left, I gave Rochelle shit for dragging me out of bed, although she did make me laugh eventually. She's a cool girl, we met on the plane a few years ago, and I couldn't imagine her not in my life, even though she is very silly when I'm feeling sick and detoxing. Also, I had a dream last night that I yelled at my mother because she forgot to give me chicken. I would never do that! Plus I don't even eat chicken. I felt so bad this a.m. even when I was up for a while. I feel like it really happened. This isn't really going anywhere, but thanks for hanging in while I mention it.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze