join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

Tucson Az memoirs

2004-01-15 - 7:30 am

When I moved to AZ a few years ago, I really didn't have any place to live. I accepted a job in the middle of nowhere that was not for me really. This girl Angel at the job was leaving too, and she said she'd drive me to Tucson and I could stay with her friend. All her friends were gay so I figured who has a better chance than another woman? The first girl I stayed with was fine, but the second girl was horrendous. I was there two weeks and I called my friend Jim in NY because he was driving my car to AZ and had just left. I started seeing a guy who was kind of a redneck and lived in a trailer, which was a dream of mine to live in. I got to know him a little and one night we took his bike to a place in AZ that I probably couldn't find on my own and I got to see a triple wide trailer. It was huge! We had nothing like this back home. I was there for maybe 1/2 hour when he stared taking out clippings from newpapers and popped in a video tape of a news story.

He told me not to judge until I had seen the whole thing, and the first thing I saw was him, but a few years younger, being interviewed. I heard him say, "No. I loved her. " Loved?

Apparently, his wife had been killed after they got into an argument and he left her on the road, because she wouldn't get in the car. When he came back, she was gone. And dead, but he didn't know it, he said. Anyway, I was scared. He told me look into my eyes and you'll see I'm not lying. I didn't want to, but eventually I said fuck it, he seems cool. I'm not gonna figure this out overnight. So I stayed with him.

I made the mistake of telling the girl I was staying with about the story. Her father was a lawyer, and she said the guy was guilty and get out of her house. She liked him the day before. I also made the mistake of telling my friend in NY with my car about it, although it did get him to AZ faster. We made plans to meet at some redneck diner people in Tucson like to go to. I met my friend from home at this place, and my new (innocent) partner said he'd meet us there. When he walked up, my friend said,"You're kidding right?" But I wasn't. It seemed no one liked the guy, but we got a little trailer in Tucson, and when he wasn't at his triple wide, he'd come where I was.

Honestly, sometimes at night, I'd think, what if I get him really mad? Like really mad.And I thought about how in college, there was a guy one of my roommates was dating that we thought he was kind of Satan like, and he said a lot of beezlebubbish comments, and when he went to sleep we checked his head for horns.

We didn't last for much longer than 10 months, there were just too many differences, like the idea he had to put a bandana around my dog's neck. I told him, you're not going to turn him into a burnout too, and then he'd tell him to "load up", that is to say, get in the truck. If he saw someone he knew out somewhere, it was "Hey, what do you know, Joe?" And the guy would say, "It takes a big old dog to ride a truck." and then my guy would say, "And a big old trailer to haul him off when he dies." What the fuck is that supposed to mean? I told him to please not do that anymore, if he could help it. He couldn't.

Finally, we had a huge blowout and I believe he pulled his fist back like he was going to swing at me! I told him to go ahead, then we'd really know if he offed his old lady. (Now I was starting to sound like him) He said he would never hit me, and never hurt her, but I think I was done. I loaded up my dog, (full custody, thank you) and we left and found a better home.

It turns out he wasn't a bad guy, he just liked to get married a lot. I spoke to him here and there, and he's married again, but to a woman with five kids. Freakin rednecks.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze