join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

Eric's still journey

2003-11-17 - 5:36 p.m.

I have a friend, Eric, that I've known about 18 years, he went to high school with me, then I didn't see him for a few years. I bumped into him and he hung out with my friend Jackie and me for a little while, and he was doing well and had a new baby. I guess they're all new. Anyway, he didn't come around anymore all of a sudden, and I heard he got into ana accident while working on the railroad tracks, and something hit him in the head.

I called his Mother and she said he was in a coma but that he was taking visitors, so I went to see him. Not at al the Eric I remembered, and a whole lot heavier. He also had a cough, which was weird because other than coughing, he didn't move much. He didn't talk, but it was almost like he was faking. I wished. I moved a year or two later, across the country, but I did think about him occasionally, and I wrote a song about him called "Wake Up Eric," in which the title pretty much indicated most of the lyrics to follow. Later, my old roommate and I put it to music. Not bad, but it was bizarre hearing it being sung by one who never knew him, and he sang it with heart, I might add.

Another couple of years went by and I felt like such a horrible friend, not calling and keeping updated. For all I knew he could be gone for good, and now what would I have to say for myself besides ummm or oops?

I called Eric's house from work one day, and I got Regina. I asked if he was around, because what else could I say? Mighty nice of me to step back in his life after 5 years! Regina was his nurse, and she said he had had a rough year. His Dad had died on Sept. 11 (the big one) and Eric had come out of the coma but couldn't move at all. He could understand everything, though. Was this good ? I told her I would send him a letter, and she relayed the message to him. "Hey, it's your buddy from high school, Eric! She says what's up! Do you remember her?" Ummm. "He...definately acknowledges and knows you!" Well I knew that. We spoke for a little bit and I mailed out a letter a month later. A bit slow, I am.

Now it's 8 months later and I'm feeling like a bad friend again. I'm sure most of his buddies don't call or write so I called him this afternoon. Regina answered, and asked me if I wanted to talk to him, but he wouldn't answer of course. Of course, I said sure, put him on. "OK, talk now."

"Hey Eric! I am the worst frien...how the fuck are you? I was....I am thinking of you. I hope you're ok...so...what the hell? So I'm going to write you a letter...hello? Regina? No? Still Eric? Hey, it's still me too. Do you recognize my voice? So I hope you feel...best. Ok buddy! I'm writing you starting now, ok? Bye. Hello? Hello. Regina. Regina. Eric? Regina.

Fianlly she picked the phone up again. "He's happy to hear from you." If she was lying, how do I know? I told her about hyperbarracks treatments, how it sometimes helps quadrapeligic (fuckin' sp!) She had never heard of it, but said she'd definately look into it. We got off the phone and I told my coworkers who it was.

Now everyone at work had a goddamned story to tell me about death, dying, why the hell don't they pull the plug on my uncle the vegetable, who did what to who in this friend's family, bla bla I should've kept my mouth shut. A heartwarming moment goes down to hell.

If Eric does walk and talk again, I'm not going to be surprised . I recently heard of a guy who was in a coma and came out of it after 19 years, fully aware. He kept referencing the president who was in office during the time the guy went into the coma, and all kinds of other funny 80's references. I think he asked for a quiche or his rubik's cube or something.

Woke up Eric.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze