join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

Moovy

2013-08-04 -

I recently moved again for the 3rd time in seven years. I was just done with where we were living, and it was time to move into a place larger than a mime�s box. Our dogs would literally be lying or sitting directly next to or under us at all times, so it was also for their sake.

So we moved 12 miles away, where life is immensely different in many ways. For one, there are flowers everywhere, including on the nearby highway walls. It�s just so beautiful. I never used to want to walk around in our old neighborhood. My husband would pretend he loved it, but he was fooling exactly no one. There are mountains you can see when you look outside our place, and there are also a few more rattlesnakes here too. (I heard one hissing recently, but I didn�t see him, I was too busy running). Living out here is great and the food is really good, especially if you plan on eating asian food 65% of the time. For some reason many of the asian restaurants like to leave little chunky anime characters and little dolls on the tables randomly, I have no idea why. It probably means something really important like �the chef is out sick�.

Since I moved here, some very 1950�s things have happened.

Our next door neighbors came walking over to introduce themselves the day we moved in. Like the whole family, with the kid and everything. I felt like I had died and gone to Happy Days. They didn�t bring any cake or food, which I didn�t like, and the wife seemed a little off. They pointed to their (mute, socially awkward) kid and told us that little league is �really huge out here�, which I have to call bs on. I haven�t heard it mentioned from anyone else since, and I know nothing about little league except that my brother was in it when I was 4 and he used to curse and throw his mitt on the ground whenever he didn�t hit a home run. This kid is nothing like that, he is tiny and quiet and oppressed looking. They were all wearing ball caps. The kid looked up at me expecting me to say something, so I asked him if he usually wins his games. I was immediately skeptical of his mother asking to see our wood floors, because their best friends used to live here back when it was carpeted, but they just moved out. Since I was clearly busy moving shit, I shuffled her inside and gave her 20 seconds in one room.

�Yeah we were wondering what all that noise was, it must have been the guys ripping up the carpet and stuff. Really loud!�

This is when I decided for sure she was going to be banned from our place.

�Yeah, sorry.�

�Why did you you guys pull it up? It was so nice (when our friends lived here). Also, they had just had the carpet cleaned!�

�Well, the simple answer is that the carpet reeked like dog piss mixed with carpet powder. And because we paid people to pull it up.�

�Oh you paid -�

And then I shuffled her back out the door. Haven�t seen her since.


One of our other neighbors down the street is a volunteer search and rescue agent. He also builds cool benches and things in the mountains nearby so when you�re hiking, you can actually stop occasionally. I hiked deep into a hidden fork on a mountain path we were on last week, and found a huge tarp covering what looked like a body. It turned out it was where he hides his tools.

Our immediate next door neighbors to the right of us are an older married couple who play tennis and are drinkers that get loud when they argue, and we love them.

Regardless of where you walk or who you see when you�re out in the neighborhood, people say hello to you here. In LA proper, people only say hello if it�s a holiday or their dog is really cute and they�re bragging.

This neighborhood recently had a 4th of July parade go through the entire town. People put their names on their chairs and leave them by the sidewalk the night before. Our search and rescue neighbor had a chair. He wasn�t sitting in it though, because the search and rescue team were in the actual parade.


The only real drawback about living here is I don�t know anyone in the area. I�m certain my friends won�t come visit, because none of them budged the last time I moved 15 miles further away. So I started a health group for people interested in hippie type healing modalities in the vicinity and we have many members so far, but our intro meeting only has one attendee coming aside from myself and he�s a zen master and karate expert. So I�m sure we�ll have a lot to talk about.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze