join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

famous last words

2004-08-14 - 10:46 p.m.

I saw the weirdest thing today when I was doing laundry. A man got hit by a car as he was walking across the street, but I didn't see that. I saw him lying in the street with a group of people around him. Here were their volunteer efforts -

blocking traffic

setting up orange cones

theorizing about what angle the car hit him

biting their nails (me)

The witnesses said he flew up in the air and landed on the street. I got very upset because I didn't like the way he wasn't moving . He was talking though, to some loud mouthed (literally) lifeguard, and if the poor guy wasn't in shock from the impact, he certainly was with the looming booming voice over him.

"OK sir I'm a LIFEGUARD down at the BEACH over on (inaudible if you can believe that) STREET! I see you may have a broken WING, but the ambulance will be here MOMENTARILY! What's your NAME?"

Too many cooks spoil the brew and all, but I felt like telling the water stud that his leg got hit, not his ear. In fact the only thing that saved the man was that the offending car had hit him on his artificial calf/foot, and it flew up on the curb. It had scuff marks to prove it. That was too much for me to bear, I just wanted to make sure he was ok.

Miraculously, when the ambulance got there, the man sat up, then stood up. I don't think he believed it either. You figure whatever happened to his calfoot in the past, he probably assumed you get one strike and next time it'll be the whole leg. But he was handed the apparatus and another chance and on it went. I'm not kidding when I say his shirt had two huge black marks that looked like a tire had gotten ahold of it. I was the kind of happy I used to get when I assisted this wedding videographer years ago, and I didn't know the people who were getting married (except for one time, never thought she would or could) and I'd get emotional anyway. I wanted to clap when this man stood up, but it wasn't that kind of crowd. One woman did fix his chain because the pendant on it was hanging on the back of his shirt. I finally told him I was glad he was ok and left the jubilant scene for the witnesses to contend with.

My plane leaves in a couple of hours to go home and I have no real intention of sleeping much tonight, for the record. I got a call from my little brother a few minutes ago who is high lite, he's waiting for the crazy ninja girl to come back and tamper with his face again. I asked him if he was high the other night when he said she beat him, and he told me no, she really did. He said there was a guy there with him who was sober 80 days who wanted to help him get into another rehab. I could hear the guy in the backround b.s.ing with him about nothing so I told him to put him on the phone. So full of it, this guy.

He was raving about how his life is miraculous and he'll never use again, I told him good for you bla bla bla but you have no business being there with an active addict. He'll probably take you down with him, even though you think you have it all down at this point. He had all the answers like my brother does, only he wasn't high. Yet. I told him good luck, because I didn't want to hear another story from another addict about how his life is perfect and he'll never use again.

I told my brother we were going to pick up our other brother from prison Tuesday, and with pipe in hand, he contemplated how he could fly home in the next 2 days and come with us. I told him just tell me what you want me to tell everyone and I'll forward the message. He said ok but I'll need to think of something good, so let me prepare it. I don't think he'll make it there, but this is in the classification of one of those things that bother you later when you're clear headed and wish you could have been there for your family, if you ever get clear headed.

I spoke to Marty briefly at the beach with Jules today, and for a few later when I got home. He got an extension for me on my visit through his lawyers so I'll get to see him a little longer. I tried to give him a recipe for almond milk and he sounded like he comprehended the directions, but I don't know where they have mesh strainers in there. I sent him some dairy is no good info. a few months ago because he was convinced it was good for you, and I'm not. In return I got a page from a magazine in the mail that just said "milk."

I said goodbye to Dedra yesterday, because I won't see her at work anymore. I made up a scrapbook and everyone put in a page for her and we put it in a book. I printed out everything I've ever written about her and put it in the book with a letter about how she accused me of hitting her car with my car door the first day I met her, my first day at the job. She knows I'll miss her, she got me to cry again because she kept telling me it was our last day together and when I got upset, her smile got bigger. She was so happy that I was going to miss her so she kept getting closer to me to see that I really was sad. Her mother came to work with her the day before that and her mother said she thought it was nice that she had such great friends that would miss her, look how sad we were. Dedra told her it was fake. I got an email from her this morning.

"I am really going to miss you! I did not want you to break down and we have to rush you to the hospital and you miss going to New York. And then your whole Gambino Family from Little Italy in New York come and try to kidnap a sister. Don't get happy that I am writing you because it is not your birthday. Mmp I guess that is how you spell a word that I made up. You have a lot of nerves changing a word I made. I love you have a safe trip in Jesus mighty name. Email me when you get a chance and bring me a corn beef sandwich on a onion roll with swiss cheese. "

In His Service,

Sister Dedra

Luke 18:1b men ought to always pray and not faint

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze