join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

diamond ferry

2004-08-07 - time for a comparative study

I can't help but notice that the chorus of Sweet Caroline by Neil Diamond sounds like the entire Roxy Music's More Than This song.

Lyrics study

Wherein I will put the lyrics of each song side by side, line by line, to do a comparative assessment. Why? Who cares!

Sweet Caroline

by Neil Diamond

MORE THAN THIS

(FERRY)

Where it began, I can't begin to know when

I COULD FEEL AT THE TIME THERE WAS NO WAY OF KNOWING

But then I know it's growing strong

Oh, wasn't the spring, whooo

FALLEN LEAVES IN THE NIGHT

WHO CAN SAY WHERE THEY'RE BLOWING

And spring became the summer

AS FREE AS THE WIND

Who'd believe you'd come along

AND HOPEFULLY LEARNING

Hands, touching hands, reaching out

WHY THE SEA OF THE TIDE

Touching me, touching you

HAS NO WAY OF TURNING

Oh, sweet Caroline

MORE THAN THIS THERE IS NOTHING

Good times never seem so good

MORE THAN THIS TELL ME ONE THING

I've been inclined to believe it never would

MORE THAN THIS THERE IS NOTHING

And now I, I look at the night, whooo

IT WAS FUN FOR A WHILE

And it don't seem so lonely

THERE WAS NO WAY OF KNOWING

We fill it up with only two, oh

LIKE DREAM IN THE NIGHT

And when I hurt

WHO CAN SAY WHERE WE'RE GOING

Hurting runs off my shoulder

NO CARE IN THE WORLD

How can I hurt when holding you

MAYBE I'M LEARNING

Oh, one, touching one, reaching out

WHY THE SEA ON THE TIDE

Touching me, touching you

HAS NO WAY OF TURNING

Oh, sweet Caroline

MORE THAN THIS - THERE IS NOTHING

Good times never seem so good

MORE THAN THIS - TELL ME ONE THING

Oh I've been inclined to believe it never would

Ohhh, sweet Caroline, good times never seem so good

MORE THAN THIS - THERE IS NOTHING

*********************************

I was talking with Blair the other night about Marty, (for the last time) and why, because his answer to everything is fluffy! A cottonball with sand in it.

Me: I just get really frustrated when I think about how it must be for him spending so many years in there as an innocent person -

Blair: (singing) - Laa laa innocent people are soo innocent.

Me: Yeah so it looks like there are finally people coming forward that are shedding some light on his situation, the way it actually is, which is what he and his family have been saying for years -

Blair - for years, laa laa ...People are sooo unjust - I know, and where oh where is this exit, oh I see it. You should do a yoga with me later, or some breathing, maybe?

Me: Forget it.

Blair - No, no forget what?

Me: You're fucking singing and I'm trying to talk to you about something I feel strongly about.

Blair - No, I'm totally listening, I am. I...actually I know how he can get out of there.

Me - What.

Blair - He could... it would take some practice but, he could definately get free of that place if he would settle in for a little bit and really get inside himself and meditate. Eventually he could "get out of his body" and go anywhere he wanted! Then he'd be free of course.

Me - Tell me you're not talking about astral projection.

Blair - Well, yeah. He could just ease into it and really - really feel where he's at, and god, he could go anywhere - home, to see friends, out of the country -

Me - No, you know what, I'm never bringing this up again with you. I mean thanks for that, but that's not really the way it's going right now. The idea is to get him out of there physically. I think we're past the astral projection idea, at this point.

Blair - Yeah, you know I see what you're saying. It's a horrible thing that it even happened and I do understand. Sometimes - and oh god, things happen and it's soo - it's - thank god he has the support of his family, right? God, I couldn't -

Me: Look out, there's a bird in the road.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze