join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

one of these days I'll make up some fictitious names

2004-06-14 - 9:53p.m.

The computer saw fit to erase the entire post I just wrote, so I'll chalk it up to it wasn't meant to be. Actually it was very depressing. In short - work was a wash, Angie's best friend's son died in a car accident last night, Georgie called in sick and later called to say her husband was cheating, and I was sad for everyone.

I saw Cigarettes and Coffee over the weekend, it was a beautiful crescendo.

Georgie called me tonight with her husband on the line, to talk it over. I felt honored and scared. I rarely remember every conversation verbatim but what I do remember:

ME: Ummm.

Georgie: What do you think about this?

Noel: Please. I was friends with the woman I didn't sleep with her like I told you Georgie, she was very short, very big, and not at all cute. I made sure of it. I needed another woman to talk to.

Georgie: Why did she say that she did then?

Noel: I do not know! How the hell should I know why she says what she says. I admit it was my doing in talking to her to begin with, and I could've talked to a guy, but I didn't want to talk to a guy, I wanted to talk to a woman.

ME: The woman might be crazy, she might.

Georgie: I flushed my wedding rings down the toilet.

ME: Rings?

Georgie: Two of them.

Noel: She did.

Me: Ohhh.

Georgie: I did.

Me: Can you get 'em back?

Georgie: It's not worth it.

Noel: You can't.

I remembered the Brady Bunch episode where Carol loses her jewelry down the drain and they get it through the plumbing. I don't know any Bradys.

Me: Can't you go through the plumbing?

Georgie: No, they're gone. I flushed twice, so he could see it.

Me: Ohh, no.

Me: A therapist told me once you can't trust that your partner will or won't do anything to you, you just have to be a trustworthy person and let the other person do the same.

Noel: That's what I'm trying to do but she wants to tell me what to do, and it's never enough. What can I do for you Georgie, that I haven't already done? What.

Georgie: (quiet)

Me: George.

Georgie: Be honest with me.

Noel: I am honest with you! I've done everything I possibly can to make you feel comfortable, but you always want more. I stay home more. I never changed my password so I have nothing to hide.

Georgie: I haven't bothered you about going to basketball in three weeks.

Noel: I haven't played in three weeks.

Before I forget Yes has this incredible song called Long Distance Runaround which is such a great song, I never tire of it, and yet I have no idea what it means!

Me: I get that she'd distrust some new friend giving you cards and calling you in the early morning. Does this girl like you?

Noel: Yes.

Me: She's probably getting off on this whole thing.

Georgie: My (beep.) phone is dying (beep.) (beep.)

Me: It's obvious you both love each other, I -

Georgie: (beep.) (beep.)

Within a few minutes, they were laughing and calling each other names, and I think one of them even told me that Georgie popped him in the mouth earlier today. I'm not denying there's work to be done here, but I like that they are willing. Both of them.

Me: He really loves you. He really does. I love you both.

Georgie: I love you too!

Me: You're gonna miss those rings.

Georgie: It's ok, rings don't make a marraige.

Noel: Yep.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze