join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

Darlene Cheyanne, Chance, Chaze.

2004-05-20 - 5:37 p.m.

Darlene, the girl I posted about a couple of weeks ago on 4/22 died the week I wrote my friend Andreas that letter to tell him to find her number so the two of us could come see him. I guess it makes sense, because she was using drugs and 80 pounds, not living right, and I kind of had the weird feeling that day I was writing about someone who wasn't around anymore. I got his letter today.

"I opened the paper a week or so ago and was shocked to see Darlene died. I'm sorry to bring news to you this way."

well what was he gonna do, send a prison pigeon with the note?

"Situations like this used to confound me but they no longer do. I buried so, so many people in my first few years sober. Remember Frank who died a few years ago? Ha ha what a good soul. I'll forever have his phone # etched in my analytical recall. I do hope this letter finds you well and keeping your shopping under control. Yes Ohell I remember your 2 bags better than one deal."

nice a good friend dies and all you can think about is my shopping habits. Nice. I'm kidding, kind of, because I'm sad.

"My Mom came here and I got a "special visit" from these guys approved, it was really nice. I had the C.O. check your name in the computer, but he said no application being processed at this time. Do you need me to send another?"

no, I have the correct app, just maybe you could send me the correct p.o. box address this time. That and I was supposed to come with you knew who.

"I'll make this short and close. In thinking of Darlene and her passing I opened my Bible and there was the 23rd psalm Take care love Andreas" The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green [1] pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name's sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. 5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest [2] my head with oil; my cup runneth over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever. Footnotes [1] 23:2 green...: Heb. pastures of tender grass [2] 23:5 anointest: Heb. makest fat (ironic but unneccessary) [3] 23:6 for ever: Heb. to length of days

***Funeral services were conducted Monday April 12 at Bunker's Caldwell Chapel.

Darlene was born March 18th, 1977 in Morenci. She attended schools in Safford. Darlene worked as a waitress at J.B's and El Coronado. She also worked at Texaco and Circle K in Chino Valley. Darlene enjoyed arrowhead hunting, was an avid baton twirler, was outgoing, and loved her three children, Cheyanne, Chance, and Chaze. (Chance and Chaze sound very very similar, but that's not the point at all.)

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze