join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

gotta go inside if you want clear hide

2004-05-12 - time for skills

Jesse was my next door neighbor in this complex for the last few years, and he inhabited this really small space for about 7 years, which has no kitchen or windows. Now that he's leaving the landlord is putting in a kitchen nice guy that he isn't. Jesse was really good at building stuff so he built a wooden liftable window that was a resealable skylight and built a kind of kitchen, I don't know how he did it, but I've eaten at his place once or twice and that guy was making some crafty dishes. He had tons of hanging bags of vegetables and is a pretty healthy hotplate kind of fella.

He moved in with his girlfriend a couple of weeks ago, but honestly I think I've seen him more here at "the compound" in the past two weeks than in the past two years. Quiet guy, introspective, glasses, intense thinker. Is designing his own herbal cleanse and metal detox supplements, and in the meantime, builds guitar pedals and tours with (what's left of) The Doors. I'd say he tweaks the instuments and does some sound stuff, but that's an ADD ucated guess.

I saw him tonight talking to our apt. fixer manager guy who never really fixes anything until it becomes unbearable, Andrew. Or if he's stoned enough. I was just going to get some food, so Jesse came with me and we went to the Co-op and he bought me a 16 oz green juice and he guzzled a fucking 32 or 40 oz. juice all at once which was so much better than mine. It had veggies and apple and ginger and some other spicy stuff. He's a skinny guy, so I don't know where it went but he seemed ok. Can you believe this, I don't even have a point, and I thought I did.

Anyway the catalyst for me going raw was Jesse, indirectly. He started looking really healthy a few years ago, and I asked him why his skin looked so good, and so translucent, and he told me to get this spray stuff Naacp or Nacp. Napc? I got it, and it was nice but he was still translucent and not me. I went back to him to protest, and he said ok but you asked. It's pretty nasty. I told him never to underestimate my curiousity like that in the future again, ever.

So I go to his apt. and he takes out all these crazy books on natural medicine, and he's trying to explain these horrific photos in the book of alien looking matter that is being released from people's bodies when they do an herbal cleanse. Herbal cleansing sounded just like every other California kookfest idea I've heard since I've been out here in the West. And I looked at more and more photos that this doctor had in this book. And in his other book. And Jesse tried really hard to explain to me how the body works, and he drew pictures of the intestines for me, and how people get sick, and how cleansing benefits the body, and my head almost blew right off my head, he was giving me so much insane information.

I read a few lines in the book, and looked at more disgusting photos of stuff (the correct term is "mucoid plaque") that was stuck in people's intestines, and the one line that I caught this guy saying was that raw food was the best choice for people to thrive on, which I thought was restrictive and ridiculous. All I could think of at the time was jicima, which I didn't even like. But I couldn't sleep at night after hearing Jesse tell me how he did this cleanse and his insides were glowing like the red key in Amelie's pocket in the movie Amelie. He still claims today that his digestive tract thanked him and it suddenly felt like beams of sunlight were coming through his stomach when he was done. Naturally since the skin is one big organ, it became healthy too, which is why I noticed it in him.

Herbal Cleanse became my favorite word, and in Los Angeles you don't have to look very far to find a fistful of people that have done any natural body testing of any kind. A lot of people have done it. I was so excited I convinced three other people to do it, and I hadn't even done it yet, that's how joyed I was. And for 2 years I read every book and article I could find on raw food and I found out that there are many many people who are raw and not disintegrating into mulch meal. They look good like Jesse's opaque face!

Long story unbearable, I went raw after two years and today in the car after he chugged his juice, Jesse said how do you feel since going raw a few months ago? I said really really good, buzzing, more alert, bla blabla except for this week and maybe a few other days where I was getting used to it, and the first week when I was a little sick, and the days where I feel like I'm detoxing. Like today when I just wanted those fucking tofu nuggets again. Why. And he unwrapped a snack and said

Because I notice your eyes look bright and you have very clear skin.

gotta go within

if you want clear skin

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze