join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

one big village

2010-10-27 -

I was thinking of starting a club for unemployed or �displaced� workers. The homeless would probably be welcome too. I�m sure it would be very popular in Los Angeles. People here are always looking for the next best thing, and I have no doubt that unemployment could have its place in what�s hot. I can�t say enough about the lack of purpose being unemployed gives you. Since my contract ended 2 weeks ago, I have most likely applied to everything I am qualified for, spoken to or met with nearly everyone and posted my resume on every wall within 11 miles. I have a hunch we are still in a slight employment recess, although I do have an interview this week. I don�t go by the news because they are spinning tales for money and they probably want to keep their day jobs too. I told my husband that I am going to Appalachia to volunteer with the poor for a week if something doesn�t come up soon. He said, why don�t you just volunteer here? I said because I think they�re much poorer there and that needs my attention. A few months ago I had met with a filmmaker here in town who I had written to about a Mexican/Indian tribe high in the mountains of Mexico; they are very poor and their animals were dying of thirst, etc. I became pen pals with a man there who is solely trying to get them out of poverty and educate them on how to live ecologically viable lives, but it�s a lot for him to handle. The filmmaker said he would be willing to go there with me and we could make a film out of it, and maybe help them by spreading the word about their community. As it turns out, for some reason in his last email he let me know the government has been killing people in that region regularly in the past month or so, so I think the trip is on hold for now.

I don�t eat bacon much, because it kind of grosses me out. But I tried to override my thoughts about it recently because my husband made some and I wanted to be a good sport. So I just pretended it was a crispy vegetable strip. It turns out it was Farmer John�s bacon, where the pigs are friends of mine. (see previous blog entry). Not anymore. What a jerk I am. Don�t eat your friends.


previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze