join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

the people at my newish job

2010-08-03 - 8:00 p.m.

Interesting few months. I am working a new job and the people are priceless. I was hoping I'd be working around some people with some spunk at the very least, and I was graced beautifully. This entry is mainly just a breakdown of some people I work closely with:

Penelope - incredible Samoan. Looks like she's 40, is 57. Boisterous and full of energy. Sleeps less than a well seasoned monk. Is a workaholic. Has been at the company about 33 years. Wears spiked heels and short dresses. Loves to shop (at the jobsite). So do I, but I've been getting into some selling there too. There are lots of women there who love to shop, and so far we don't have many sellers, aside from our boss whose sister makes beautiful beaded bracelets, and me. By the way, it's not a sales related office in any way, shape or form.

Cat - My boss. Another one who looks 40's but is not. Black woman in her...I think she's 55. Classy dresser and very cool. Hired me. She also hired another guy, who I thought of as my buddy but later decided I didn't like very much.

Brian - Was my buddy for a day or two but ignored me for a few weeks, so I dismantled him permanently in my mind. White like crackers. Is in his low 40's but looks 35. He sits behind me in what is kind of a cross between an office and a cubicle. Like a coffice. They are much bigger than many cubicles I've been in, and we can arrange the furniture any way we want. I'm going for a 'back to the wall, no surprises please' look in mine. What I know about him: has high blood pressure, weak stomach, a "girlfriend" (more later), glasses.

That's my immediate department in our region. Then there are peripherals, helpers and related departments like everywhere. And, like in many work places, everyone follows the games. I don't though I would if I could understand them. I think it was just basketball season. Yes, I'm pretty sure that now it's something else. Anyway.

Valerie: younger Hispanic girl, 30's, outgoing, chatty, funny, getting married (again) in December. It appears her ex husband is stalking her fiance through three page letters signed "Your Guardian Angel"; saying things like "Watch her, man. I'm just trying to help you out." And then leaving her messages like "Your days are numbered, bitch." The entire woman's wing near me hangs out during lunch and talks about relevant stuff like who killed who in the news, reality tv and sports<---which is the topic I try to steer clear of. For example, by the food (taco) truck this morning, one of the Warehouse guys yelled "Hey Ohell! Which team?" I had to break the news that I didn't know even one member of any team. So he asked me who my husband liked. I had to tell him I was going to go home and check and I would get back to him.


The surrounding neighborhood is Hispanic Los Angeles. Every restaurant in the area says "Mariscos" (seafood) on the front of the building. A Sears building sits abandoned like it never existed. Yes, life is in session and it's not speaking anything close to clear English.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze