join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

last five entries

endings are the new beginnings - 2015-06-22
who cares valerian - 2014-11-10
she said / they said - 2013-12-10
hindsight is perfect - 2013-11-12
Stella - 2013-11-04

host - email - older- newest - profile - notes

doing meetings

2004-10-06 - time out

We got called into a meeting today at work, Georgie and me and the VP. Somehow she was making me laugh all day, with her 'I'll cut everyone' attitude and all. I wasn't so sure I would be able to speak in the meeting, because once I had been giggling out of control for the past few minutes, and so I suggested that she speak on behalf of both of us. Which she was happy to, until I had to interject when I was calm again. The guy's phone kept ringing and he answered it only the first time, something about his daughter winning second place in a violin contest or something.

"That was Viv. Won second place, I'm so proud. So proud."

"That's so great!"

"Yay, violins."

When his phone rang the second time he gave it the stop hand signal and said

" You just go to voicemail."

"Or to hell, " I said.

"Exactly."

What was the meeting about? About us all talking to hear ourselves talk.I didn't tune out as much in this one because I needed to input a little. Georgie gets really fired up and angry when she's making a point she feels passionate about. That means that eventually I had to stop her when it looked like the meeting was over.

"Yeah, I think we've made our point. I'll bet he's got it by now. I think we're good."

If there was a debating team I would have elected her captain. But all throughout the meeting I thought about the VP working for me. What would he do? Probably the same, check the tv monitors for suspicious activity outside, monitor the flow of business, keep those fuckers in line within the collections dept. He may or may not have been there when the perps stole the (live) tv monitors right off the base outside, but he certainly was a member of staff when some guy on Honda motorcycle crazy glued all the locks in the middle of the night a few months ago. With his helmet on, he's no fool. To get the correct identity, the VP had the tapes analyzed but I guess he got a discount because no one thought to check the license plate. Get smart.

Tomorrow I will be 11 years sober. I'm pretty lucky and all, I just don't like to stand up at meetings and talk, but it does show the newcomer that it works. This is usually the breakdown when someone celebrates another year.

The young ones:

Variation a) I'm so happy ? Because I don't have to live that way anymore? Thanks to everyone? I love everyone? Especially my fiance' that I met a few weeks ago?

Variation b) When I overdosed and died for the third time and the doctor said to my mother, man he's not gonna make it, I finally woke up and came here and life is perfect now.

The arrogant bastards:

" I got a direct line to God. My mind is like a bad freaking neighborhood. I never go in there alone. I take God with me. And you guys. Been a great year. Overjoyed. Thanks.

"I tell the guys I sponsor, You stay sober and you'll get more chicks and money, even though it's not about all that. It's a spiritual thing. "

Rainbows and Roses: The Eternal Optimists

"How did I do it for the last fifteen years? I didn't. WE DID!"

"I'd like to read you guys a little (three page) passage about love, and (wasting your) time, and gratitude, and patience, and peace. And character. But before I do I want to thank everyone in here by name. All thirty six of you."

Oldtimers:

"Oh, thanks to everyone...right back at you Charly! Hey, those guys are always razzin' me back there. You too Eddie!�

The bad jokers:

"I used to do stand up till I couldn't stand up anymore! No just kidding. "

"What I love about being here is that AA always has tons of coffee and a lot of nuts."

The Riddlers:


"People always want to know my age. I've been sober since I was thirty four, I got 23 years, you guys do the math."

Yesterday's history, tomorrow's a mystery, and do you know what today is? Give up? Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present."


And many more, believe me. So no matter what happens tomorrow, I'll think of everything as a gift, even if it's an earthquake or another bad song coming from the guys in the apartment next door.

previous - next

all words copyright ohell 2004
original design by andrew
redesign by coldooze